Newly-elected Cedar Park mayor and council members sworn in


Three city council members and a new mayor were sworn in last week in Cedar Park. 

Newly elected Mayor Corbin Van Arsdale was sworn in on last Monday ahead of last the regularly scheduled May 24 city council meeting. Van Arsdale won the office with 70 percent of the vote, beating rival Bob Cornelius in the May 5 local election. 

New council members Mel Kirkland, Mike Guevara and Dorian Chavez were all sworn in during the May 24 council meeting, while outgoing Mayor Matt Powell and former council members Cobby Caputo and Kristyne Bollier were honored for their service. 

Kirkland was elected in Place 2, Chavez in Place 4 and Chavez won the Place 6 seat.