Voters to decide congressional races in runoff Tuesday


Two Democrats will face off in next Tuesday’s primary runoff election seeking the nomination to challenge longtime incumbent Republican John Carter of District 31. Carter’s district encompasses most of Cedar Park and Leander, as well as Round Rock, Georgetown and Liberty Hill. 

The eight-term Congressman first won office in 2003 and has easily won re-election in each successive term. He serves on the House Appropriations Committee and is the Chairman of the Homeland Security Subcommittee on Appropriations. He also serves on the Commerce, Justice, Science Subcommittee and Defense Subcommittees.

In the March primary, Mary Jennings “MJ” Hegar and Christine Eady Mann edged out Mike Clark and Kent Lester but neither was able to earn a majority of the vote. Hegar, a graduate of Leander High School, is a decorated Air Force veteran. Mann is a Leander resident who has operated her own family practice clinic in Cedar Park for more than 20 years. 

A pair of Democrats will run off for the nomination to challenge incumbent Republican Roger Williams for the District 25 congressional seat. 

Julie Oliver and Chris Perri edged out three other Democrats on the March 6 primary ballot for the district that includes portions of Cedar Park and Leander, as well as Lago Vista, Jonestown, Lakeway and the Four Points area of Austin. 

Oliver is an attorney and an accountant who works in healthcare finance. Perri is a Central Texas defense attorney.

In the race to replace Lamar Smith, a longtime Republican congressman from District 21, two Democrats and two Republicans will run off. Democrats Mary Street Wilson and Joseph Kopser  pulled away from Derrick Crowe and Elliot McFadden in the March 6 primary. On the Republican ballot, Matt McCaul and Chip Roy will face off after getting more votes than a total of 16 other Republican challengers on March 6. 

Congressional District 21 covers a large area of the Texas Hill Country including Fredericksburg and Kerrville, but also includes portions of West Austin and Travis County approaching Bee Cave. 

Early voting continues through 7 p.m. Friday, May 18 at the Cedar Park Public Library, Pat Bryson Municipal Hall in Leander, and the Cedar Park Randalls on Cypress Creek Road. 

Polls open for Tuesday’s runoff election at 7 a.m. A list of polling places can be found online at http://www.wilco.org/Departments/Elections for Williamson County residents, and at www.votetravis.com for Travis County residents.